(re)Brew: T2 Oolong Berry

T2’s Oolong Berry provides the lovely refreshing taste of freshly picked raspberries whilst also providing a beautiful and mild oolong flavour.

T2 Description
Raspberries are known as one of the worlds most perfect foods, so we guess that means this tea is in the same prestigious ranks! These beautiful crimson baubles have been combined with a light green oolong tea to create a wonderfully fragrant and intense yet delicate flavour. Berry bliss that will leave you begging for more.

Available in: 100g box

Ingredients: Semi fermented tea, raspberry, flavour.

Brewing Instructions
1 teaspoon per 200mLs for 3-6 minutes at 80°C or 176F.

My Thoughts
I have owned T2’s Oolong Berry for several months, even before I established Tea Cup Discoveries, so apologies for the photos of only the labels of Oolong Berry rather than a photo of the box. I drink this tea when I feel I deserve a special tea at the end of a busy week, however, it is often difficult to stop at only one cup due to the amazing raspberry flavour!

When I initially tried this tea, I didn’t actually use 1 teaspoon per 200mLs as suggested by T2’s brewing instructions even though I realise that oolong is a more expensive tea. I did not find the flavour of the brew to be any weaker than I may have experienced had I used 1 teaspoon per 200mLs. However, the timing of the tea was a little tricky at first as a shorter brew time led to a stronger raspberry flavour coming through, whilst a longer brew time led to stronger oolong flavour coming through. I finally worked out that 5 minutes, whilst on the long side of the recommended brew time, led to a great flavour balance between raspberry and oolong.

One of things I love most about T2’s Oolong Berry is the fact that you can actually see the raspberry in the tea, as you can see from the photo below. I generally have Oolong Berry of an evening when I am winding down from either a busy day or week. I think the fact that I don’t have Oolong Berry as regularly as some of my other teas is the reason why I enjoy it so much, particularly too as I believe that more expensive teas deserve to be consumed for special occassions.

Concluding Thoughts
I think this is a great tea that could easily be given to a friend or family member as a tea due to its great flavour but also being a more expensive tea. However, if you love raspberries, then this tea is also a great tea for you, particularly as the raspberry flavour isn’t too overpowering and allows the oolong tea to also have a strong presence. If you are not much of a fan of the taste of oolong, maybe try T2’s Oolong Berry as the oolong helps the raspberry flavouring to come through.

Do you have a favourite tea that you reserve for special occassions or when you have had a busy week?

Leave a comment